In the Name of Nationalism

Hello fellow humans, and welcome back to my blog for a post about nationalism, video editing, and a ton of research. Sounds interesting, right?

Before I can properly begin, I assume some context would be appreciated, so let’s get that over with. First: I’m going to start at the end with the final product, a YouTube video on Polish nationalism (a topic of my choice). Second: This video is pretty much the entirety of the project, so I will go into detail on every part of its creation. Third: I don’t like lists of 2. With all that out of the way, we can start with my video on Polish nationalism:

Hey, welcome back! So after watching the video, you should have a fairly good idea about Polish history and, surprise surprise, I had to research everything in that video1. So, let’s start there.

The research was, by far, the hardest part of this project, and also the most crucial to making sure we wouldn’t be lying for four minutes. To guide our research we developed six questions about our chosen countries, each covering one of the 6 topics of question: Who, What, Where, How, When, and Why. My questions mainly focused on how location and borders affected nationalism and the formation of Poland.

With my questions set in place, I started my research by finding as many possibly useful sources as I could, and organizing them on a Milanote Board2. I’m not sure if I was doing something wrong, but for some reason, I ended up having a hard time finding “normal” sources (Wikipedia, Britannica, just plain websites, YouTube videos) and instead collected a ton of books and papers3. I did eventually get organized and ready to start answering questions.

IMG_2850.jpeg

The actual answering questions bit was interesting, as once I answered one, all of the others sort of answered themselves as I worked, so I was jumping around, writing down relevant information (which is why you might see some repeated information). After a few days of research, my board looked like this and I was ready to begin writing a script4.

Image

Well, I didn’t actually start writing my script. I started by blocking out the main points I wanted to talk about, and creating a simple reference for what would be onscreen at the time5.

IMG_2852.jpeg

With that out of the way, I could actually start writing my script. This didn’t actually take that long, even though I did have to make sure all my sources were cited, and do some extra research while writing it. Script in hand, I started trying to record my audio, as I had decided not to actually appear in my video. Ten takes later I was done, and after another hour or so of cleaning up the audio I started editing. Initially, editing was slow, as I had to create a lot of custom images and videos, but eventually, I got into a rhythm and was able to finish my video in one or two days. Not appearing in my video, along with the apparent lack of media related to Polish history6, but I learned a lot about DaVinci Resolve (my editor) in the process and overall things went pretty well. Five hours of editing later, I had my finished video.

Overall, I’m quite happy with it. The creation did feel a tad rushed, and my research processes were far from perfect (and there was a whole issue with DaVinci not exporting audio correctly, which is why I had to reupload my video), but it could have gone way worse, and I think I now have a pretty solid understanding of this, so I’m happy.

Thanks for sticking along for this journey, or skipping to the end. So long for now!

-Finn.

  1. I mean, that is how you learn stuff. 

  2. Milanote is basically just an app where I can organize text and links and images and stuff, on a 2D board which was useful for keeping track of all my sources when I was answering questions as the sources were literally next to them. Also, holy crap I absolutely love when apps use serif fonts well. 

  3. I know that books and papers are technically more useful/detailed than YouTube videos and Wikipedia pages, and I would have loved to actually read through all of them but I had like 1 week to research, cut me some slack. 

  4. Completely unrelated, but I was curious what font Milanote uses so I did a bit of digging while I was writing this. Long story short is it’s Tiempos Text by KilmType foundry. 

  5. I also used this to keep track of media I might use. 

  6. I spent 30 minutes trying to find an image or painting of 19th-century Polish peasants.